Julie’s Olympic Flame

What a crazy 24 hours it has been which has been filled with fun, excitement, laughter from filming with Gavin from Glasgow2014 (Thursday 7 June). It was so enjoyable and the missionary task was made easier by the fact we were able to ‘click’ straightaway and gets on with filming my Olympic Torch story – a short trailer for Glasgow2014.

The Moment to Shine – Friday 8 June 2012
Julie & Jack

The atmosphere was incredible and Glasgow City Centre was absolutely mobbed. Friends and families turned out to support. Even faces from the past and presents were shouting my name ‘JULIE’! I was completely awestruck by the sheer scale of excitement that has enlightened the city. One of my friends put it ‘Seeing you was one of the most memorable events we have ever seen!   You looked fantastic!’ .

My slot couldn’t have been better, one of the very few torchbearers to take a stance alongside James McAvoy (Scottish Actor) and Des Clarke (Scottish Comedian) who handed the flame over to me.

I must commend Gavin Sturgeon for his strenuous efforts on Friday too. We’ve have an epic 24 hours beforehand filming my pre-Olympic Torch story which has been comprised with anticipation, fun and laughter. It can’t be easy when running along to keep up with pace of the torch, even my friends and families spotted this guy in a blue t-shirt and I said that Gavin, my film crew! I am sure the credits to Gavin will be rewarded after editing my pre Olympic Torch trailer to be release very soon.

This has been another busy year and we are only half way through and still much more to come – all will be announces in due course.

Moreover, I must thanks David Stocks of Disability Rights UK for nominating me and giving me the rein to carry such a prestigious honor and to leave a legacy for Disability Rights UK with London Olympics 2012.

Leave a Reply

