DofE Scotland – Gold Awards Presentation

This year, I was asked to present the Duke of Edinburgh Gold Awards to over 30 young people in my group. It was a privileged to be asked to do so after a few years when I received my Gold Award at Holyrood Palace. It was well timed too as we mark twenty days to go till Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games with David Grevemberg, CEO of Glasgow 2014 joined the host of celebrities, Nina Nesbitt, Paul Brannigan, actor, Tony Singh, Chef, David Murdoch, Sochi 2014 Silver medallist in Curling, Chris Paterson, MBE, Scottish Rugby Union Ambassador and many others.

It was conferred that I was the youngest and only fellow Gold Award holder to be on hand to present the Awards to the youngsters this year.

These young people have demonstrated the resilience and tenacity to work hard to achieve their record of achievements during course of the Award. They should be extremely proud of what they have achieved as I firmly believed that the Duke of Edinburgh Scheme had serve them well and will aid them onto their next aspiration in life.

As a recipient of the Gold Duke of Edinburgh Award, I know how much the Duke of Edinburgh Scheme had taught me about myself. However, I would like to thanks Garry MacLeod (MBE) from the Glasgow City Council for being my mentor while I was doing mine on a solo capacity. Garry worked with me to maximise my potential in working towards my Duke of Edinburgh award. Without his support and guidance he had given throughout my award period, I may have never have experienced the self-confidence and self belief to enable me to go on pushing boundaries.
Thereafter, it was Ken Hames (https://www.dofe.org/en/content/cms/about-us/celebrity-support/) who saw my capability to succeed while coping with a disability which saddle a number of impairments associated with Cerebral Palsy and ever since he has inspired me to go on further.

Many, many Congratulations to this year’s recipients. They should go out and not yield, the Duke of Edinburgh Awards organisation has given them the attributes to take forward.

Leave a Reply

